Until further notice, the University of Arizona, in accordance with the guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, encourages all employees to work remotely. The Center for Middle Eastern Studies office is closed to the public, but you can reach us, Monday–Friday 8:30am-5pm, please refer to our CMES Contacts page

Get COVID-19 updates and information for the University of Arizona community.

Faculty Members

Madelaine Adelman's picture
Madelaine Adelman
Associate Professor, Justice and Social Inquiry, School of Social Transformation, ASU
Email: mad@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 965-4886
Office: Tempe Campus
[more information]
Souad Ali's picture
Souad Ali
Associate Professor of Arabic Literature & Middle East/Islamic Studies, School of International Letters and Cultures, Head of Classics and Middle East Studies, Director of Arabic Studies, ASU
Email: Souad.Ali@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 965-4586
Office: PO Box 870202, Tempe, AZ 85287-0202
[more information]
Muhammad AlKhudair's picture
Muhammad AlKhudair
Lecturer, Arabic Language, University of Southern California
Email: alkhudai@usc.edu
TEL: (213) 821-9562
Office: THH 256D
[more information]
Patricia Bigwood's picture
Patricia Bigwood
Sociology Instructor, Cochise College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Fall 2016 and Spring 2018)
Email: bigwoodp@cochise.edu
TEL: (520) 417-4012
Office: D-GEN/1111
[more information]
Benjamin Broome's picture
Benjamin Broome
Professor, School of Human Communication, ASU
Email: benjamin.broome@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 965-0394
FAX: (480) 965-4291
Office: PO Box 871205, Tempe, AZ 85287-1205
[more information]
Naomi Caffee's picture
Naomi Caffee
Assistant Professor of Russian, Russian Department, Division of Literature and Languages Reed College
Email: caffee@reed.edu
[more information]
Faisal Chaudhry's picture
Faisal Chaudhry
Assistant Professor of Law & History, School of Law, University of Dayton
Email: fchaudhry1@udayton.edu
[more information]
Elise Collins-Shields's picture
Elise Collins-Shields
Founder & CEO, CommonWell Institute International
Email: ecs@commonwell.org
FAX: (520) 577-5264
[more information]
Pearce Paul Creasman's picture
Pearce Paul Creasman
Director, American Center of Oriental Research [Amman & Washington DC]
Email: pcreasman@acorjordan.org
[more information]
Erika Derkas's picture
Erika Derkas
Professor, Sociology and Women's Studies and Co-Director of the NMHU Women's Studies Program & Women's Center, New Mexico Highlands University
Email: ederkas@nmhu.edu
TEL: 011-505-454-3432
Office: Box 9000, Las Vegas, NM 87701
[more information]
Chouki El Hamel's picture
Chouki El Hamel
Professor, History, ASU
Email: chouki@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 727-6118
Office: P.O. Box 874302, Tempe, AZ 85287-4302
Chouki El Hamel is a professor of history in the School of...
[more information]
Steven Falconer's picture
Steven Falconer
Professor and Chair, Anthropology
Email: sfalcon1@uncc.edu
TEL: (704) 687-7459
Office: Barnard 218, University of North Carolina Charlotte
[more information]
Miguel Fernandez's picture
Miguel Fernandez
English Composition Faculty CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2019)
Email: miguel.fernandez@cgc.edu
TEL: (480) 726-4052
Office: Pecos EST202
[more information]
Abdullahi Gallab's picture
Abdullahi Gallab
Associate Professor, African and African American Studies, School of Social Transformation Associate Professor, Religious Studies, School of Historical, Philosophical, and Religious Studies
Email: abdullahi.gallab@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 965-7682
Office: ASU
[more information]
Samia Kholoussi's picture
Samia Kholoussi
Instructor, Pima Community College
Email: skholoussi@pima.edu
Office: Downtown Campus
[more information]
Anne Kilmer's picture
Anne Kilmer
Prof. Emerita, NES, UC Berkeley
Email: adkilmer@socrates.berkeley.edu
Office: 250 Barrows Hall
[more information]
Alan Malter's picture
Alan Malter
Associate Professor, Department of Managerial Studies, College of Business Administration, University of Illinois at Chicago
Email: amalter@uic.edu
TEL: (312) 413-4142
Office: 2221 University Hall
[more information]
Amir Meraban's picture
Amir Meraban
Science Faculty, Chandler-Gilbert Community College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2020)
Email: amir.meraban@cgc.edu
[more information]
Nicholas Mowad's picture
Nicholas Mowad
Philosophy Faculty, Chandler-Gilbert Community College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2019)
Email: nicholas.mowad@cgc.edu
TEL: (480) 726-4133
Office: GIL 127
[more information]
Senzil Nawid's picture
Senzil Nawid
Research Affiliate, Southwest Institute for Research on Women, University of Arizona
Email: s.nawid@cox.net
TEL: (520) 621-7338
[more information]
Robert Poirier's picture
Robert Poirier
Professor, Department of Politics & International Affairs
Email: robert.poirier@nau.edu
TEL: (520) 523-6529
FAX: (520) 523-6777
Office: SBS, 322
[more information]
Scott Reese's picture
Scott Reese
Professor, History, Northern Arizona University
Email: scott.reese@nua.edu
TEL: (928) 523-9049
Office: LA 344
[more information]
Jeremy Ruth's picture
Jeremy Ruth
Adjunct Faculty,Estrella Mountain Community College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2020)
Email: Jeremy.ruth@estrellamountain.edu
[more information]
Entisar “Vivi” Sabbagh's picture
Entisar “Vivi” Sabbagh
Anthropologist; Advisory Board, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, University of Arizona
Email: Entisarsabbagh@aol.com
[more information]
Andrea Shaheen Espinosa's picture
Andrea Shaheen Espinosa
Associate Professor, Department of Music, University of Texas at El Paso
Email: alshaheen@utep.edu
TEL: (915) 747-7824
[more information]
Jessamyn Snider's picture
Jessamyn Snider
Spanish Instructor, Cochise College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Fall 2016 and Spring 2017)
Email: sniderj@cochise.edu
[more information]
Shahla Talebi's picture
Shahla Talebi
Associate Professor, Religious Studies, ASU
Email: Shahla.Talebi@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 965-2766
Office: P.O.Box 874302 TEMPE
[more information]
Virginia Thompson's picture
Virginia Thompson
Art Instructor, Cochise College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2018)
Email: thompsonpfauv@cochise.edu
TEL: (520) 515-3673
Office: Sierra Vista Campus, Art 419
[more information]
Donald Wells's picture
Donald Wells
(retired) Professor Emeritus
Email: dwells@eller.arizona.edu
[more information]
Christy Wittmer's picture
Christy Wittmer
Adjunct Faculty, Chandler-Gilbert Community College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2020)
Email: Christy.wittmer@cgc.edu
[more information]

Pages