Until further notice, the University of Arizona, in accordance with the guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, encourages all employees to work remotely. The Center for Middle Eastern Studies office is closed to the public, but you can reach us, Monday–Friday 8:30am-5pm, please refer to our CMES Contacts page

Get COVID-19 updates and information for the University of Arizona community.

Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
Gil Ribak's picture
Gil Ribak
Associate Professor, Judaic Studies
Email: gribak@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5785
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 420
[more information]
James J. Riley's picture
James J. Riley
(retired) Associate Professor, Soil/Water and Environmental Science
Email: jjriley@ag.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1646
[more information]
Irene Romano's picture
Irene Romano
Professor, Art Professor, Anthropology Curator, Mediterranean Archaeology
Email: ireneromano@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-1377
Office: Arizona State Museum North 316-N
[more information]
Mort Rosenblum's picture
Mort Rosenblum
Professor of Practice
Email: mortr@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7556
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 334
[more information]
Jeremy Ruth's picture
Jeremy Ruth
Adjunct Faculty,Estrella Mountain Community College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2020)
Email: Jeremy.ruth@estrellamountain.edu
[more information]
Terry Ryan's picture
Terry Ryan
Program Coordinator, American Institute for Maghrib Studies
Email: tlryan@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 626-6498
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 454
[more information]
Entisar “Vivi” Sabbagh's picture
Entisar “Vivi” Sabbagh
Anthropologist; Advisory Board, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, University of Arizona
Email: Entisarsabbagh@aol.com
[more information]
Beverly A. Seckinger's picture
Beverly A. Seckinger
Professor, School of Theatre/Film and Television
Email: bsecking@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1239
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 229
[more information]
Chris Sepulveda's picture
Chris Sepulveda
Student Worker
Email: chrissepulveda@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 621-5450
Office: Marshall 470A
[more information]
Andrea Shaheen Espinosa's picture
Andrea Shaheen Espinosa
Associate Professor, Department of Music, University of Texas at El Paso
Email: alshaheen@utep.edu
TEL: (915) 747-7824
[more information]
Jacqueline Sharkey's picture
Jacqueline Sharkey
(retired) Professor Emerita
Email: sharkey@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Sonia Shiri's picture
Sonia Shiri
Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Assistant Professor, Second Language Acquisition / Teaching - GIDP
Email: soniashiri@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-7667
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Brian Silverstein's picture
Brian Silverstein
Associate Professor, Anthropology Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Associate Professor, Social / Cultural / Critical Theory - GIDP
Email: bsilver@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5047
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg 126
[more information]
Ryan Simpson's picture
Ryan Simpson
Student Worker
Email: Simpsonryan001@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 304-2126
Office: 470A
[more information]
Donald C Slack's picture
Donald C Slack
Dean's Chair for Excellence, Cecil Miller Families Professor, Agricultural-Biosystems Engineering Professor, Watershed Management Professor, Arid Lands Resources Sciences - GIDP
Email: slackd@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7230
Office: Shantz 000403
[more information]
Charles D Smith's picture
Charles D Smith
(retired) Professor, Near Eastern Studies
Email: cdsmith@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Jessamyn Snider's picture
Jessamyn Snider
Spanish Instructor, Cochise College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Fall 2016 and Spring 2017)
Email: sniderj@cochise.edu
[more information]
Crystal Soltero's picture
Crystal Soltero
Associate Professor of Practice, Teaching/Learning and Sociocultural Studies
Email: csoltero@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-6976
Office: Education 715
[more information]
David Soren's picture
David Soren
Professor, Anthropology Adjunct Professor, Art Regents Professor Professor, Religious Studies / Classics
Email: soren@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5013
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg 321
[more information]
Renee Spellman's picture
Renee Spellman
Outreach Assistant
Email: reneespellman@email.arizona.edu
Office: Marshall 472
[more information]
Mary C. Stiner's picture
Mary C. Stiner
Professor, Anthropology Regents Professor Curator, Archaeology
Email: mstiner@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2694
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg 00409 B
[more information]
Janet L. Sturman's picture
Janet L. Sturman
(retired) Emerita Professor of Music
Email: sturman@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-0420
Office: administration 322
[more information]
Donna Swaim's picture
Donna Swaim
(retired) Senior Lecturer Emerita
Email: dswaim@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Kamran Talattof's picture
Kamran Talattof
Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Chair, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies
Email: talattof@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2330
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Shahla Talebi's picture
Shahla Talebi
Associate Professor, Religious Studies, ASU
Email: Shahla.Talebi@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 965-2766
Office: P.O.Box 874302 TEMPE
[more information]
Phyllis Clark Taoua's picture
Phyllis Clark Taoua
Associate Professor, French and Italian
Email: taoua@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-0791
Office: Modern Languages 588
[more information]
Ian Thomas's picture
Ian Thomas
Student Worker
Email: thomas5001@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 621-5450
Office: Marshall 470
[more information]
Virginia Thompson's picture
Virginia Thompson
Art Instructor, Cochise College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2018)
Email: thompsonpfauv@cochise.edu
TEL: (520) 515-3673
Office: Sierra Vista Campus, Art 419
[more information]
Ramzi Touchan's picture
Ramzi Touchan
Research Professor, Dendrochronology Research Professor, School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Email: rtouchan@ltrr.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2992
Office: Bryant Bannister Tree Ring 416
[more information]
Tolga Türker's picture
Tolga Türker
Lecturer, School of Government and Public Policy
Email: atturker@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-4163
Office: University Services Building, Suite 322
[more information]

Pages