Until further notice, the University of Arizona, in accordance with the guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, encourages all employees to work remotely. The Center for Middle Eastern Studies office is closed to the public, but you can reach us, Monday–Friday 8:30am-5pm, please refer to our CMES Contacts page

Get COVID-19 updates and information for the University of Arizona community.

Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
Mary McLachlan's picture
Mary McLachlan
Research Assistant
Email: mclachlan@email.arizona.edu
Office: Marshall 472
[more information]
Sharon Megdal's picture
Sharon Megdal
Director, Water Resources Research Center Endowed Professor, C W/Modene Neely Specialist, Soil/Water and Environmental Science Professor, Agricultural-Resource Economics Professor, Soil/Water and Environmental Science Professor, School of Geography and De
Email: smegdal@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-9591
Office: Water Resources Research Ctr. 7
[more information]
Amir Meraban's picture
Amir Meraban
Science Faculty, Chandler-Gilbert Community College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2020)
Email: amir.meraban@cgc.edu
[more information]
Clara Migoya's picture
Clara Migoya
Title VI Media Assistant
Email: cmigoya@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Barbara Mills's picture
Barbara Mills
Professor, Anthropology Professor, American Indian Studies Curator, Archaeology Professor, American Indian Studies-GIDP
Email: bmills@arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-9671
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg. 408E
[more information]
Nicholas Mowad's picture
Nicholas Mowad
Philosophy Faculty, Chandler-Gilbert Community College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2019)
Email: nicholas.mowad@cgc.edu
TEL: (480) 726-4133
Office: GIL 127
[more information]
Gary P. Nabhan's picture
Gary P. Nabhan
Research Social Scientist Research Professor Assistant Professor, School of Geography and Development Adjunct Professor, School of Natural Resources and the Environment Professor, Arid Lands Resources Sciences - GIDP
Email: gpnabhan@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2484
Office: Little Chapel of All Nations 185
[more information]
Najwa Nabti's picture
Najwa Nabti
Associate Instructor, James E. Rogers College of Law
Email: nabti@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Beth Alpert Nakhai's picture
Beth Alpert Nakhai
Associate Professor, Judaic Studies Associate Professor, Anthropology
Email: bnakhai@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5762
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 420
[more information]
Maha Nassar's picture
Maha Nassar
Assistant Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: mtnassar@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5189
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Senzil Nawid's picture
Senzil Nawid
Research Affiliate, Southwest Institute for Research on Women, University of Arizona
Email: s.nawid@cox.net
TEL: (520) 621-7338
[more information]
Narges Nematollahi's picture
Narges Nematollahi
Instructor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: nnematollahi@email.arizona.edu
Office: Marshall 478

Narges Nematollahi holds the Elahé Omidyar Mir-Djalali Assistant Professor of Persian Language in the School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies. She is a Ph.D. candidate in the departments of Central Eurasian Studies and Linguistics at Indiana University, Bloomington. She holds a Master...
[more information]

Amy Newhall's picture
Amy Newhall
Executive Director, Middle Eastern Studies Association, Associate Professor, Roshan Persian and Iranian Studies - GIDP
Email: amy@mesana.org
TEL: (520) 621-5456
Office: Marshall 471
[more information]
Yaseen Noorani's picture
Yaseen Noorani
Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Associate Professor, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies
Email: ynoorani@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-9696
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Austin O'Malley's picture
Austin O'Malley
Assistant Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: austinomalley@email.arizona.edu
Office: Marshall 442
[more information]
Leslye Obiora's picture
Leslye Obiora
Professor, Law
Email: obiora@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1881
Office: College of Law Building 230
[more information]
Nancy Odegaard's picture
Nancy Odegaard
Conservator, Arizona State Museum Professor, Anthropology Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Email: odegaard@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-6314
Office: Arizona State Museum South 00105C
[more information]
Elizabeth Oglesby's picture
Elizabeth Oglesby
Associate Professor, School of Geography and Development Associate Professor, Latin American Studies
Email: eoglesby@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5799
Office: Environment and Natural Res S423
[more information]
Ahmet Okal's picture
Ahmet Okal
Instructor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Graduate - Graduate Degree Seeking - Sec Lang Acquisition & Teach Graduate - Graduate Degree Seeking - Multidisciplinary
Email: okal@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8013
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
John W. Olsen's picture
John W. Olsen
(retired) Professor Emeritus
Email: jwo@arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2585
[more information]
Thomas Park's picture
Thomas Park
Associate Professor, Anthropology Associate Research Anthropologist Associate Professor, Near Eastern Studies Associate Professor, Arid Lands Resources Sciences - GIDP
Email: tpark@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2632
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg 315
[more information]
J. E. Peterson's picture
J. E. Peterson
Historian and author on Middle East Affairs; Sir William Luce Fellow, University of Durham (2004)
Email: mail@jepeterson.net
TEL: (520) 885- 5457
[more information]
Robert Poirier's picture
Robert Poirier
Professor, Department of Politics & International Affairs
Email: robert.poirier@nau.edu
TEL: (520) 523-6529
FAX: (520) 523-6777
Office: SBS, 322
[more information]
Jennifer Post's picture
Jennifer Post
Lecturer, Music
Email: jcpost@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1655
Office: Music 109
[more information]
Denis Provencher's picture
Denis Provencher
Department Head, French and Italian Professor, French and Italian
Email: denisprovencher@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1949
Office: Modern Languages 549
[more information]
Hamdi A. Qafisheh's picture
Hamdi A. Qafisheh
(retired) Professor Emeritus
Email: neareast@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
John C Racy's picture
John C Racy
Professor, Psychiatry Assistant Dean, Student Affairs
Email: racy@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-6351
Office: Arizona Health Sciences Center 007404
[more information]
Atifa R. Rawan's picture
Atifa R. Rawan
(retired) Librarian Emerita
Email: rawana@u.library.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-4867
Office: MAIN A501
[more information]
Scott Reese's picture
Scott Reese
Professor, History, Northern Arizona University
Email: scott.reese@nua.edu
TEL: (928) 523-9049
Office: LA 344
[more information]
Jeannine Relly's picture
Jeannine Relly
Professor, Journalism
Email: jrelly@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7556
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 326
[more information]

Pages