Until further notice, the University of Arizona, in accordance with the guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, encourages all employees to work remotely. The Center for Middle Eastern Studies office is closed to the public, but you can reach us, Monday–Friday 8:30am-5pm, please refer to our CMES Contacts page

Get COVID-19 updates and information for the University of Arizona community.

Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
Julia Clancy-Smith's picture
Julia Clancy-Smith
Professor, MENAS Professor, Near Eastern Studies Regents Professor Professor, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies
Email: juliac@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-8421
Office: Marshall 440
[more information]
Elise Collins-Shields's picture
Elise Collins-Shields
Founder & CEO, CommonWell Institute International
Email: ecs@commonwell.org
FAX: (520) 577-5264
[more information]
Pearce Paul Creasman's picture
Pearce Paul Creasman
Director, American Center of Oriental Research [Amman & Washington DC]
Email: pcreasman@acorjordan.org
[more information]
Elise W. Crosby's picture
Elise W. Crosby
Associate
Email: elisewcrosby@gmail.com
TEL: 5205291422
[more information]
Saad Dagher's picture
Saad Dagher
Library Information Associate,Senior
Email: sadagher@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-307-2832
Office: Main Library A501
[more information]
Linda Darling's picture
Linda Darling
Professor, History Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Professor, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies
Email: ldarling@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 20-621-9754
Office: Social Sciences 000231
[more information]
Chris Demchak's picture
Chris Demchak
Associate Professor, School of Public Administration and Policy
Email: demchak@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Erika Derkas's picture
Erika Derkas
Professor, Sociology and Women's Studies and Co-Director of the NMHU Women's Studies Program & Women's Center, New Mexico Highlands University
Email: ederkas@nmhu.edu
TEL: 011-505-454-3432
Office: Box 9000, Las Vegas, NM 87701
[more information]
Kyle DiRoberto's picture
Kyle DiRoberto
Assistant Professor, English, UA South; CMES ISPP Fellow (Fall 2017 and Spring 2018)
Email: droberto@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 439-8846
Office: 1140 N COLOMBO, UA South
[more information]
Ted Downing's picture
Ted Downing
Research Professor, Social Development
Email: downing@u.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2025
Office: AZ Research Labs Annex 111
[more information]
Paul Dresch's picture
Paul Dresch
Associate
Email: dresch@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5450
[more information]
David Dunford's picture
David Dunford
Associate
Email: dunford@email.arizona.edu

Former U.S. Ambassador to the Sultanate of Oman, 1992-1995 and former Deputy U.S. Ambassador  to Saudi Arabia, 1988-1992.

Author of From Sadat to Saddam: The Decline of American Diplomacy in the Middle East (Potomac Books 2019).


[more information]
Richard Eaton's picture
Richard Eaton
Professor, History Professor, Near Eastern Studies Professor, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies
Email: reaton@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8120
Office: Social Sciences 111B
[more information]
Chouki El Hamel's picture
Chouki El Hamel
Professor, History, ASU
Email: chouki@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 727-6118
Office: P.O. Box 874302, Tempe, AZ 85287-4302
Chouki El Hamel is a professor of history in the School of...
[more information]
Julie Ellison-Speight's picture
Julie Ellison-Speight
Associate Director
Email: jellison@email.arizona.edu
Office: Marshall 473
[more information]
Charles M. Falco's picture
Charles M. Falco
(retired) Professor, Optical Sciences Chair, Condensed Matter Physics Professor, Physics
Email: falco@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-6771
Office: Gould-Simpson 1021
[more information]
Steven Falconer's picture
Steven Falconer
Professor and Chair, Anthropology
Email: sfalcon1@uncc.edu
TEL: (704) 687-7459
Office: Barnard 218, University of North Carolina Charlotte
[more information]
Samira Farwaneh's picture
Samira Farwaneh
Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Associate Professor, Linguistics Associate Professor, Second Language Acquisition/Teaching Grad I Associate Professor, Second Language Acquisition / Teaching - GIDP
Email: farwaneh@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8629
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Miguel Fernandez's picture
Miguel Fernandez
English Composition Faculty CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring 2019)
Email: miguel.fernandez@cgc.edu
TEL: (480) 726-4052
Office: Pecos EST202
[more information]
Ben Fortna's picture
Ben Fortna
Director, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Professor, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies
Email: bcfortna@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1732
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Mark P. Frederickson's picture
Mark P. Frederickson
(retired) Associate Professor, Landscape Architecture
Email: mpf@u.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-3948
[more information]
Abdullahi Gallab's picture
Abdullahi Gallab
Associate Professor, African and African American Studies, School of Social Transformation Associate Professor, Religious Studies, School of Historical, Philosophical, and Religious Studies
Email: abdullahi.gallab@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 965-7682
Office: ASU
[more information]
Adel S. Gamal's picture
Adel S. Gamal
(retired) Professor Emeritus, School of Middle Eastern & North African Studies
Email: gamal@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5465
Office: Marshall 448
[more information]
Fayez K. Ghishan's picture
Fayez K. Ghishan
Department Head, Pediatrics Professor, Pediatrics Professor, Physiology Director, Children's Research Center Physician-In-Chief, Diamond Children's Medical Center Professor, Physiological Sciences - GIDP
Email: fghishan@peds.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5170
Office: Arizona Health Sciences Center 3301
[more information]
Faten Ghosn's picture
Faten Ghosn
Associate Professor, School of Government and Public Policy Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: fghosn@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7600
Office: Social Sciences 315
[more information]
David Neil Gibbs's picture
David Neil Gibbs
Professor, History Associate Professor, Political Science
Email: dgibbs@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1586
Office: Social Sciences 227
[more information]
David Graizbord's picture
David Graizbord
Associate Professor, Judaic Studies Associate Director, Arizona Center for Judaic Studies
Email: dlgraizb@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5784
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 420
[more information]
David Gramling's picture
David Gramling
Assistant Professor, German Studies Assistant Professor, Second Language Acquisition / Teaching - GIDP
Email: dgl@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-822-6251
Office: Learning Services Building 301
[more information]
Gary Grossman's picture
Gary Grossman
Associate Professor, School of Letters and Sciences, Faculty Chair of the Global Technology and Development Program
Email: gary.grossman@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 727-9533
Office: ASU
[more information]
Iman A. Hakim's picture
Iman A. Hakim
Dean, Public Health Professor, Public Health Research Professor, Family and Community Medicine Adjunct Professor, Nutritional Sciences
Email: ihakim@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-7083
Office: Roy P. Drachman Hall A317G
[more information]

Pages