Until further notice, the University of Arizona, in accordance with the guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, encourages all employees to work remotely. The Center for Middle Eastern Studies office is closed to the public, but you can reach us, Monday–Friday 8:30am-5pm, please refer to our CMES Contacts page

Get COVID-19 updates and information for the University of Arizona community.

Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
Matthew Abraham's picture
Matthew Abraham
Professor, English
Email: mabraham1@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1836
Office: Modern Languages 445
[more information]
Lisa Adeli's picture
Lisa Adeli
Director of Educational Outreach
Email: adeli@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 621-7904
FAX: (520) 621-9257
Office: Marshall 474

Dr. Lisa Adeli has been the Director of Educational Outreach for the University of Arizona’s Center for Middle Eastern Studies since July 2007.  A certified high school teacher (Social Studies and English with an ESL endorsement), she taught World History at Buena High School in Sierra Vista,...
[more information]

Madelaine Adelman's picture
Madelaine Adelman
Associate Professor, Justice and Social Inquiry, School of Social Transformation, ASU
Email: mad@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 965-4886
Office: Tempe Campus
[more information]
Amir I. Ajami's picture
Amir I. Ajami
(retired) Associate Director, CALS International Programs
Email: aajami@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Muhammad Al-Khudair's picture
Muhammad Al-Khudair
Instructor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: khudair@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5754
Office: Marshall 441
[more information]
Souad Ali's picture
Souad Ali
Associate Professor of Arabic Literature & Middle East/Islamic Studies, School of International Letters and Cultures, Head of Classics and Middle East Studies, Director of Arabic Studies, ASU
Email: Souad.Ali@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 965-4586
Office: PO Box 870202, Tempe, AZ 85287-0202
[more information]
Muhammad AlKhudair's picture
Muhammad AlKhudair
Lecturer, Arabic Language, University of Southern California
Email: alkhudai@usc.edu
TEL: (213) 821-9562
Office: THH 256D
[more information]
Sama Alshaibi's picture
Sama Alshaibi
Professor, Art
Email: alshaibi@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7575
Office: Art Building & Art Museum 108
[more information]
Mohamed Ansary's picture
Mohamed Ansary
Instructor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: mansary@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5745
Office: Marshall 441
[more information]
Robert Ariew's picture
Robert Ariew
(retired) Professor Emeritus
Email: ariewr@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Mahmoud Azaz's picture
Mahmoud Azaz
Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: mazaz@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8013
Office: Marshall 442
[more information]
Nayel Badareen's picture
Nayel Badareen
Lecturer, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: badareen@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8013
Office: Marshall 450
[more information]
Adele Barker's picture
Adele Barker
Technical Expert
Email: adeleb@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7341
Office: LSB 305
[more information]
Mamadou A. Baro's picture
Mamadou A. Baro
Associate Research Anthropologist Professor, School of Anthropology Professor, Arid Lands Resources Sciences - GIDP
Email: baro@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2624
Office: Emil W. Haury Building, Room 318
[more information]
Anne Betteridge's picture
Anne Betteridge
Director of the Center for Middle Eastern Studies and Professor of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: anneb@email.arizona.edu
Office: Marshall 471
[more information]
Patricia Bigwood's picture
Patricia Bigwood
Sociology Instructor, Cochise College; CMES ISPP Fellow (Fall 2016 and Spring 2018)
Email: bigwoodp@cochise.edu
TEL: (520) 417-4012
Office: D-GEN/1111
[more information]
Carine Bourget's picture
Carine Bourget
Professor, French and Italian Professor, Near Eastern Studies
Email: bourgetc@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-0792
Office: Modern Languages 559
[more information]
Leslie Boyer's picture
Leslie Boyer
(retired) Associate Professor, Clinical Pediatrics Professor, Pathology - (Clinical Scholar Track) Associate Professor, BIO5 Institute Director, Viper Institute
Email: boyer@viper.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-6229
Office: Arizona Health Sciences Center, 6131
[more information]
Alex Braithwaite's picture
Alex Braithwaite
Associate Professor, School of Government and Public Policy
Email: abraith@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7600
Office: Social Sciences, 315
[more information]
Michael Brewer's picture
Michael Brewer
Department Head, Research and Learning Librarian
Email: brewerm@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-307-2771
Office: Main Library, A204
[more information]
Benjamin Broome's picture
Benjamin Broome
Professor, School of Human Communication, ASU
Email: benjamin.broome@asu.edu
TEL: (480) 965-0394
FAX: (480) 965-4291
Office: PO Box 871205, Tempe, AZ 85287-1205
[more information]
Melody Buckner's picture
Melody Buckner
Interim Dean, University of Arizona South Director, Digital Learning Initiatives and Online Education
Email: mbuckner@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-9484
Office: University Services Building, 301
[more information]
Robert A Burns's picture
Robert A Burns
Associate Professor Emeritus
Email: raburns@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Naomi Caffee's picture
Naomi Caffee
Assistant Professor of Russian, Russian Department, Division of Literature and Languages Reed College
Email: caffee@reed.edu
[more information]
Megan Carney's picture
Megan Carney
Assistant Professor, School of Anthropology
Email: mcarney@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.621.5078
FAX: 520.621.2088
Office: Emil W. Haury Building, Room 318
[more information]
Martha Castleberry's picture
Martha Castleberry
Business Manager, Senior
TEL: (520) 626-6940
Office: Marshall 420
[more information]
Nader V. Chalfoun's picture
Nader V. Chalfoun
Professor, Architecture Program Chair, M S in Architecture Professor, Global Change - GIDP
Email: chalfoun@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-6740
Office: Architecture 104
[more information]
Faisal Chaudhry's picture
Faisal Chaudhry
Assistant Professor of Law & History, School of Law, University of Dayton
Email: fchaudhry1@udayton.edu
[more information]
Abdessalem Choura's picture
Abdessalem Choura
Instructor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: achoura@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8013
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg. 440
[more information]
Gary Christopherson's picture
Gary Christopherson
Associate Professor of Practice, School of Geography and Development Director, Center for Applied Spatial Analysis Associate Professor, Remote Sensing / Spatial Analysis - GIDP
Email: garych@casa.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1652
Office: ENR2 S434
[more information]

Pages