Until further notice, the University of Arizona, in accordance with the guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, encourages all employees to work remotely. The Center for Middle Eastern Studies office is closed to the public, but you can reach us, Monday–Friday 8:30am-5pm, please refer to our CMES Contacts page

Get COVID-19 updates and information for the University of Arizona community.

CMES Affiliated Faculty (UA)

Current and retired UA faculty members who are in the School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies or who have been accepted by the CMES Governing Board. Read the affiliation guidelines here.

Faculty Members (UA)

Enter a name and/or lastname
Janet L. Sturman's picture
Janet L. Sturman
(retired) Emerita Professor of Music
Email: sturman@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-0420
Office: administration 322
[more information]
Donna Swaim's picture
Donna Swaim
(retired) Senior Lecturer Emerita
Email: dswaim@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Kamran Talattof's picture
Kamran Talattof
Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Chair, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies
Email: talattof@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2330
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Phyllis Clark Taoua's picture
Phyllis Clark Taoua
Associate Professor, French and Italian
Email: taoua@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-0791
Office: Modern Languages 588
[more information]
Ramzi Touchan's picture
Ramzi Touchan
Research Professor, Dendrochronology Research Professor, School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Email: rtouchan@ltrr.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2992
Office: Bryant Bannister Tree Ring 416
[more information]
Tolga Türker's picture
Tolga Türker
Lecturer, School of Government and Public Policy
Email: atturker@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-4163
Office: University Services Building, Suite 322
[more information]
Adam Ussishkin's picture
Adam Ussishkin
Associate Professor, Linguistics Associate Professor, Near Eastern Studies Associate Professor, Cognitive Science - GIDP Associate Professor, Second Language Acquisition / Teaching - GIDP
Email: ussishki@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-7121
Office: Douglass 312
[more information]
Pamela Vandiver's picture
Pamela Vandiver
Professor, Materials Science and Engineering Professor, Anthropology
Email: vandiver@mse.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-400-2270
Office: John W. Harshbarger Building 304A
[more information]
Robert Varady's picture
Robert Varady
Interim Director, Udall Center Deputy Director, Udall Center Director, Environmental Programs Adjunct Professor, Hydrology and Water Resources Research Professor, Environmental Policy-Udall Center Adjunct Research Professor, Natural Resources and the Envi
Email: rvarady@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-4393
Office: Udall Ctr - Studies in Pub Pol
[more information]
Thomas Volgy's picture
Thomas Volgy
Professor, School of Government and Public Policy
Email: volgy@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1208
Office: Social Sciences 333
[more information]
Anthony F Vuturo's picture
Anthony F Vuturo
Senior Lecturer, Community Environment & Policy; Professor Emeritus, Family & Community Medicine, University of Arizona
Email: vuturo@email.arizona.edu
Office: UMC-Anesthesiology
[more information]
Andrew Wedel's picture
Andrew Wedel
Associate Professor, Linguistics Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Associate Professor, Cognitive Science - GIDP Associate Professor, Second Language Acquisition / Teaching - GIDP
Email: wedel@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5036
Office: Douglass 000303
[more information]
Richard H Wilkinson's picture
Richard H Wilkinson
(retired) Regents Professor Emeritus
Email: egypt@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2585
[more information]
John P Willerton's picture
John P Willerton
Professor, School of Government and Public Policy
Email: jpw@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7600
Office: Social Sciences 315
[more information]
J Edward Wright's picture
J Edward Wright
Director, Judaic Studies Professor, Judaic Studies Professor, J Edward Wright-Arizona Center for Judaic Studies
Email: edwright@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5763
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 420
[more information]
Maggy Zanger's picture
Maggy Zanger
Professor of Practice
Email: zanger@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5710 or 520-661-2742
Office: Marshall Room 323D

Teaching and research focuses on international journalism, the Middle East and Islamic world, US-Mexico Border; media coverage of conflict and humanitarian crises; Iraq, Egypt, Kurdistan; media development; and community journalism. Am affialited faculty and serve on the Governing Board of the...
[more information]

Pages