Until further notice, the University of Arizona, in accordance with the guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, encourages all employees to work remotely. The Center for Middle Eastern Studies office is closed to the public, but you can reach us, Monday–Friday 8:30am-5pm, please refer to our CMES Contacts page

Get COVID-19 updates and information for the University of Arizona community.

CMES Affiliated Faculty (UA)

Current and retired UA faculty members who are in the School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies or who have been accepted by the CMES Governing Board. Read the affiliation guidelines here.

Faculty Members (UA)

Enter a name and/or lastname
Beth Alpert Nakhai's picture
Beth Alpert Nakhai
Associate Professor, Judaic Studies Associate Professor, Anthropology
Email: bnakhai@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5762
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 420
[more information]
Maha Nassar's picture
Maha Nassar
Assistant Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: mtnassar@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5189
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Narges Nematollahi's picture
Narges Nematollahi
Instructor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: nnematollahi@email.arizona.edu
Office: Marshall 478

Narges Nematollahi holds the Elahé Omidyar Mir-Djalali Assistant Professor of Persian Language in the School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies. She is a Ph.D. candidate in the departments of Central Eurasian Studies and Linguistics at Indiana University, Bloomington. She holds a Master...
[more information]

Amy Newhall's picture
Amy Newhall
Executive Director, Middle Eastern Studies Association, Associate Professor, Roshan Persian and Iranian Studies - GIDP
Email: amy@mesana.org
TEL: (520) 621-5456
Office: Marshall 471
[more information]
Yaseen Noorani's picture
Yaseen Noorani
Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Associate Professor, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies
Email: ynoorani@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-9696
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Austin O'Malley's picture
Austin O'Malley
Assistant Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: austinomalley@email.arizona.edu
Office: Marshall 442
[more information]
Leslye Obiora's picture
Leslye Obiora
Professor, Law
Email: obiora@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1881
Office: College of Law Building 230
[more information]
Nancy Odegaard's picture
Nancy Odegaard
Conservator, Arizona State Museum Professor, Anthropology Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Email: odegaard@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-6314
Office: Arizona State Museum South 00105C
[more information]
Elizabeth Oglesby's picture
Elizabeth Oglesby
Associate Professor, School of Geography and Development Associate Professor, Latin American Studies
Email: eoglesby@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5799
Office: Environment and Natural Res S423
[more information]
Ahmet Okal's picture
Ahmet Okal
Instructor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Graduate - Graduate Degree Seeking - Sec Lang Acquisition & Teach Graduate - Graduate Degree Seeking - Multidisciplinary
Email: okal@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8013
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
John W. Olsen's picture
John W. Olsen
(retired) Professor Emeritus
Email: jwo@arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2585
[more information]
Thomas Park's picture
Thomas Park
Associate Professor, Anthropology Associate Research Anthropologist Associate Professor, Near Eastern Studies Associate Professor, Arid Lands Resources Sciences - GIDP
Email: tpark@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2632
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg 315
[more information]
Jennifer Post's picture
Jennifer Post
Lecturer, Music
Email: jcpost@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1655
Office: Music 109
[more information]
Denis Provencher's picture
Denis Provencher
Department Head, French and Italian Professor, French and Italian
Email: denisprovencher@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1949
Office: Modern Languages 549
[more information]
Hamdi A. Qafisheh's picture
Hamdi A. Qafisheh
(retired) Professor Emeritus
Email: neareast@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
John C Racy's picture
John C Racy
Professor, Psychiatry Assistant Dean, Student Affairs
Email: racy@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-6351
Office: Arizona Health Sciences Center 007404
[more information]
Atifa R. Rawan's picture
Atifa R. Rawan
(retired) Librarian Emerita
Email: rawana@u.library.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-4867
Office: MAIN A501
[more information]
Jeannine Relly's picture
Jeannine Relly
Professor, Journalism
Email: jrelly@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7556
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 326
[more information]
Gil Ribak's picture
Gil Ribak
Associate Professor, Judaic Studies
Email: gribak@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5785
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 420
[more information]
James J. Riley's picture
James J. Riley
(retired) Associate Professor, Soil/Water and Environmental Science
Email: jjriley@ag.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1646
[more information]
Irene Romano's picture
Irene Romano
Professor, Art Professor, Anthropology Curator, Mediterranean Archaeology
Email: ireneromano@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-1377
Office: Arizona State Museum North 316-N
[more information]
Mort Rosenblum's picture
Mort Rosenblum
Professor Emeritus, Professor of Practice
Email: mortr@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7556
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 334
[more information]
Beverly A. Seckinger's picture
Beverly A. Seckinger
Professor, School of Theatre/Film and Television
Email: bsecking@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1239
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 229
[more information]
Jacqueline Sharkey's picture
Jacqueline Sharkey
(retired) Professor Emerita
Email: sharkey@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Sonia Shiri's picture
Sonia Shiri
Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Assistant Professor, Second Language Acquisition / Teaching - GIDP
Email: soniashiri@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-7667
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Brian Silverstein's picture
Brian Silverstein
Associate Professor, Anthropology Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Associate Professor, Social / Cultural / Critical Theory - GIDP
Email: bsilver@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5047
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg 126
[more information]
Donald C Slack's picture
Donald C Slack
Dean's Chair for Excellence, Cecil Miller Families Professor, Agricultural-Biosystems Engineering Professor, Watershed Management Professor, Arid Lands Resources Sciences - GIDP
Email: slackd@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7230
Office: Shantz 000403
[more information]
Charles D Smith's picture
Charles D Smith
(retired) Professor, Near Eastern Studies
Email: cdsmith@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
David Soren's picture
David Soren
Professor, Anthropology Adjunct Professor, Art Regents Professor Professor, Religious Studies / Classics
Email: soren@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5013
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg 321
[more information]
Mary C. Stiner's picture
Mary C. Stiner
Professor, Anthropology Regents Professor Curator, Archaeology
Email: mstiner@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2694
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg 00409 B
[more information]

Pages