Until further notice, the University of Arizona, in accordance with the guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, encourages all employees to work remotely. The Center for Middle Eastern Studies office is closed to the public, but you can reach us, Monday–Friday 8:30am-5pm, please refer to our CMES Contacts page

Get COVID-19 updates and information for the University of Arizona community.

CMES Affiliated Faculty (UA)

Current and retired UA faculty members who are in the School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies or who have been accepted by the CMES Governing Board. Read the affiliation guidelines here.

Faculty Members (UA)

Enter a name and/or lastname
Adel S. Gamal's picture
Adel S. Gamal
(retired) Professor Emeritus, School of Middle Eastern & North African Studies
Email: gamal@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5465
Office: Marshall 448
[more information]
Fayez K. Ghishan's picture
Fayez K. Ghishan
Department Head, Pediatrics Professor, Pediatrics Professor, Physiology Director, Children's Research Center Physician-In-Chief, Diamond Children's Medical Center Professor, Physiological Sciences - GIDP
Email: fghishan@peds.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5170
Office: Arizona Health Sciences Center 3301
[more information]
Faten Ghosn's picture
Faten Ghosn
Associate Professor, School of Government and Public Policy Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies
Email: fghosn@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7600
Office: Social Sciences 315
[more information]
David Neil Gibbs's picture
David Neil Gibbs
Professor, History Associate Professor, Political Science
Email: dgibbs@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1586
Office: Social Sciences 227
[more information]
David Graizbord's picture
David Graizbord
Associate Professor, Judaic Studies Associate Director, Arizona Center for Judaic Studies
Email: dlgraizb@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5784
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 420
[more information]
David Gramling's picture
David Gramling
Assistant Professor, German Studies Assistant Professor, Second Language Acquisition / Teaching - GIDP
Email: dgl@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-822-6251
Office: Learning Services Building 301
[more information]
Iman A. Hakim's picture
Iman A. Hakim
Dean, Public Health Professor, Public Health Research Professor, Family and Community Medicine Adjunct Professor, Nutritional Sciences
Email: ihakim@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-7083
Office: Roy P. Drachman Hall A317G
[more information]
Leonard Hammer's picture
Leonard Hammer
Adjunct Lecturer Adjunct Instructor, School of Government and Public Policy
Email: lhammer@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5758
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 420
[more information]
Eleni Hasaki's picture
Eleni Hasaki
Associate Professor, Anthropology Associate Professor, Religious Studies / Classics
Email: hasakie@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-1398
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg 314A
[more information]
Lyndall Herman's picture
Lyndall Herman
Adjunct Instructor, University of Arizona; Associate Faculty, Virtual Campus, Cochise College; Global Risk Analyst, CARE
Email: lyndallh@email.arizona.edu

Lyndall Herman received her PhD from the School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies at the University of Arizona. Her doctoral research focused on international organizations in the Gaza Strip, and her dissertation is titled ‘Recreating’ Gaza: International Organizations &...
[more information]

James Hess's picture
James Hess
Limited Term Adjunct Instructor, UA South; CMES ISPP Fellow (Spring and Fall 2016)
Email: jhess@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-2422
Office: Sierra Vista Campus 101
[more information]
Leila Hudson's picture
Leila Hudson
Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Associate Professor, Anthropology Associate Professor, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies
Email: lhudson@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8013
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 440
[more information]
Barbara Hutchinson's picture
Barbara Hutchinson
Managing Director, Global Rangelands Initiatives (retired) Librarian
Email: barbarah@ag.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7255
Office: Biological Sciences East 209
[more information]
R. Brooks Jeffery's picture
R. Brooks Jeffery
Associate Vice President, Research Professor, Architecture Professor, Landscape Architecture
Email: rbjeffer@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2991
Office: Administration 601
[more information]
Simin Karimi's picture
Simin Karimi
Professor, Linguistics Associate Research Social Scientist Professor, Near Eastern Studies Professor, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies Professor, Cognitive Science - GIDP Professor, Second Language Acquisition / Teaching - GIDP
Email: karimi@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5399
Office: Communication 000106
[more information]
Deborah Kaye's picture
Deborah Kaye
AZ Center for Judaic Studies Lecturer, Judaic Studies Lecturer, French and Italian
Email: deborahk@u.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5758
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 420
[more information]
Marwan Krunz's picture
Marwan Krunz
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor, Computer Science Endowed Professor, Kenneth VonBehren
Email: krunz@ece.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8731
Office: Electrical & Computer Engr 356H
[more information]
Tamar Kugler's picture
Tamar Kugler
Associate Professor, Management/Organizations Associate Professor, Cognitive Science - GIDP
Email: tkugler@eller.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7788
Office: McClelland Hall 405BB
[more information]
Paulette Kurzer's picture
Paulette Kurzer
Professor, School of Government and Public Policy
Email: kurzer@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-7600
Office: Social Sciences 325
[more information]
Margaret Livingston's picture
Margaret Livingston
Professor, Landscape Architecture Adjunct Assistant Professor, Renewable Natural Resources Professor, Arid Lands Resources Sciences - GIDP
Email: mlivings@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5359
Office: Architecture A303K
[more information]
Scott Lucas's picture
Scott Lucas
Associate Professor, School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies Associate Professor, Roshan GIDP - Persian and Iranian Studies
Email: sclucas@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-9562
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg 445
[more information]
Eva- Maria Maggi's picture
Eva- Maria Maggi
Adjunct Instructor, School of Government and Public Policy
Email: evamaggi@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences 315
[more information]
Stuart E Marsh's picture
Stuart E Marsh
Director, School of Natural Resources and the Environment Professor, Natural Resources and the Environment Professor, Renewable Natural Resources Professor, Geography Professor, Arid Lands Resources Sciences - GIDP Professor, Global Change - GIDP Professo
Email: smarsh@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-8574
Office: Environment and Natural Res N333
[more information]
Fred S. Matter's picture
Fred S. Matter
(retired) Professor Emeritus
Email: matter@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Farid Matuk's picture
Farid Matuk
Assistant Professor, English
Email: matuk@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1836
Office: Modern Languages 445
[more information]
Jessica Maves Braithwaite's picture
Jessica Maves Braithwaite
Assistant Professor, School of Government and Public Policy
Email: jbraith@email.arizona.edu
Office: Social Sciences, 315
[more information]
Sharon Megdal's picture
Sharon Megdal
Director, Water Resources Research Center Endowed Professor, C W/Modene Neely Specialist, Soil/Water and Environmental Science Professor, Agricultural-Resource Economics Professor, Soil/Water and Environmental Science Professor, School of Geography and De
Email: smegdal@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-9591
Office: Water Resources Research Ctr. 7
[more information]
Barbara Mills's picture
Barbara Mills
Professor, Anthropology Professor, American Indian Studies Curator, Archaeology Professor, American Indian Studies-GIDP
Email: bmills@arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-9671
Office: Emil W. Haury Anth. Bldg. 408E
[more information]
Gary P. Nabhan's picture
Gary P. Nabhan
Research Social Scientist Research Professor Assistant Professor, School of Geography and Development Adjunct Professor, School of Natural Resources and the Environment Professor, Arid Lands Resources Sciences - GIDP
Email: gpnabhan@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-2484
Office: Little Chapel of All Nations 185
[more information]
Najwa Nabti's picture
Najwa Nabti
Associate Instructor, James E. Rogers College of Law
Email: nabti@email.arizona.edu
[more information]

Pages